The Princess Bride

What is it about this movie anyway?  This is the one movie that everyone I know likes, accept for me.  I have never liked this movie.  I have tried several times to watch it, searching for whatever I am missing about it, that everyone loves.  Am I missing a humor gene?  Am I not twisted enough?  Maybe I just have a mental block about it.

I remember in high school hearing the title and thinking this movie was a romantic fairy tail, along the lines of Snow White, only not in animation.   I was surprised to find it was a spoof movie.  I keep thinking. maybe it just didn’t meet my expectations the first time around.  I should really try again.

Over the years, I have tried three or four times to watch it.  Greg (my husband) thinks it is hilarious, along with every other person I have ever asked about it.  Unfortunately it just never holds my interest long enough for me to really watch it and give it a full shot.  I feel like there is something seriously wrong with me.   I like twisted movies.  I cracked up watching Napoleon DynamiteStrange Brew, American Pie, Austin Powers, and many others.   However, the Princess Bride has eluded me.  Tell me I am not the only person on earth that doesn’t like this movie.

8 thoughts on “The Princess Bride

  1. Sorry Deanna…I love it too…and I love that my older niece and nephew can practically recite it verbatim…we got Emma hooked on it as well. Maybe you are trying too hard? Pour a big glass of a great red wine and give it another try. Or not…certainly is OK to not like it. 🙂

  2. I find this hilarious that you are blogging about a movie today! I posted my blog about an hour or so ago, and it was also about movies! Musta been a movie weekend! BTW, I too, liked the Princess Bride, tho not as much as my DH does. I prefer real romances! Real juicy chick flicks! But, PB was funny. But, I think we are all entitled to that one movie that we just don’t “get” what the fuss is all about!

  3. Hi there. I’m Marina, Greg’s old friend from college (ask him if you need more explanation…) Anyway, I just had to respond to your latest blog entry because, as it so happens, I’m not a huge fan of The Princess Bride either. I guess I like parts of it, but it never did much for me. I, too have wondered what all the fuss was about. So, you see? You’re not alone!

  4. I have never seen it, I am not sure how I missed seeing it…maybe when it came out…it wasn’t the type Dan and I would go see. Depending on the year, I was probably thick in little kids and we didn’t rent movies to much back in the day

  5. Eh, it’s just okay for me. I don’t love it, but I can watch it. You’re probably right, expecting something else the first time you watched it may have soured the movie for you.

Leave a Reply

