Back to School – Make your own Pencils!

It’s back to school time. Labor Day always marked the return to school from summer vacation when I was growing up. I was always excited to get back to school, for all the right reasons of course. You know, new school supplies, new clothes, and of course seeing my friends regularly.

So when this months topic for Ornament Thursday was announced to me, Academia, my first thought was freshly sharpened pencils. I know, I’ll make little glass pencils. Wouldn’t they make great teacher gifts?

So I set out to make some and here is my progression:

Of course, I had to choose the colors. I use Bullseye glass, so I picked, regular pink for the eraser, pumpkin for the pencil, and nougat for the tip.

I first wrapped a bit of pink around the mandrel, for the eraser:

Then, the pumpkin for the pencil. I rolled it out, smoothing it on the marver:

Then I added the tip, marvering at a angle to make it pointed:

Then I added just a bit more pumpkin to the pencil part and rolled it out all nice and smooth again. This is what it looked like right before I put it into the kiln.

And, this is the finished product, ready for glamor shots.:

Then of course they need a jewelry designer to make them into something. So what did I do? I sent them off to JoolzbyLisa. She has a post on how she transformed these little gems into adorable jewelry. Click here.

So now you have the tools on how to make pencils and I have just directed you on where to go for info to make them into jewelry gems. But, if you are not a lampworker and want pencils, go here to see some in my etsy store, or contact JoolzbyLisa for pencils made into jewelry.

Check out all the other Ornament Thursday Blogs:

Art Bead Scene & The Golden Rule
The Art Bead Scene editor shares a few words of wisdom for jewelry designers.

Check out the “homework” project from Joolz by Lisa
A collab effort works out great when you plan ahead

BeadStyle goes back to school
Lindsay Haedt’s on her way to the classroom, but not before Linda shares one of her recent designs

Beading Help Web Wires Up Academia
Lynn Kvigne to read! While you can easily use a scrap of paper or an old magazine subscription card for a bookmark, why not whip up a stylish book mark instead?

Cindy Gimbrone aka Lampwork Diva
Cindy’s learned how to Mail!

Michelle’s Edumacation
Michelle has yet another go at decorating Helen’s workstation, this month, less scary than last but oh, so funky

Swelldesigner goes crazy over school supplies!
Alexa shows you how to turn pencil grips into ultra funky accessories

First Day
Michelle’s School Book – it’s academic!

11 thoughts on “Back to School – Make your own Pencils!

  1. Pingback: August Ornament Thursday: Academia - BeadStyle

  2. Pingback: Ornament Thursday: Academia « Joolz by Lisa

  3. I don’t think you could come up with a cuter back to school bead! Great job Deanna. I love that you paired up with a jewelry designer, now off to read lisa’s blog post.

Leave a comment