Brew’in up a few Witches

This months Ornament Thursday topic is Brew.  So I brewed up a few witches for your viewing pleasure.  Glass witches that is.  I want to share with you how I started on my journey of witches.  I asked my girlfriends to brain storm with me on new ideas for sculptural beads.  They came up with a range of things, none of them sticking to my creative side.  Then one of them put “witch” out there.

At the time I was pretty young in my lampworking days and just didn’t know how I would go about making such a piece in glass.  So I searched for tutorials on one of my favorite lampworking sites lampwork Etc.  I didn’t find a witch, but I did find a goddess tutorial by  Sarah J Schalken.

I studied her tutorial and spent about three days working on my new witch design, and suddenly she was born.  An excellent example of taking someone elses instruction and making it your own.


See all the other Ornament Thursday particiapnats here:

Art Bead Scene
Jennifer’s Not-So-Scary Halloween Bracelet

BeadStyle & Milwaukee’s heritage
Linda shares her Amber Bock Bracelet

Cindy Gimbrone aka Lampwork Diva
New Beads are Brewing…

Double, Double, Toil and Trouble…
Joolz by Lisa has a “Hairy” Twist on OT Brew

It’s not easy being green
Michelle yearns to be the Wicked Witch of the West – we think she’s hit pay dirt here.

Strands of Beads
Something wicked is brewing at Melissa’s place

Swelldesigner
Alexa stirs it up with this retro witch wall hanging!

6 thoughts on “Brew’in up a few Witches

  1. Pingback: Ornament Thursday: Brew Time! « Joolz by Lisa

  2. Bravo for taking someone else’s tutorial and making it your own! I love the purple haired witch with the flowers on her hat, an unexpected use of the floral decoration. Very nicely done!

    You’ve brewed up some wonderful beads!

    Beadmaking-ly yours 😉
    Cindy

  3. I love your witch with flowers. When I was about five, my mother sewed a witch costume for me with the only black fabric she had in her stash – it had a pattern of white daisies all over it. I remember crying, because I thought no self-respecting witch would wear flowers. Funnily enough, though, it’s the only costume I really remember from my childhood!

Leave a comment